The National Fallen Firefighters Memorial Weeeknd Will honor 226 Firefighters
May 4-5, 2024
Close this search box.
Foundation News

Senator Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Safety Leadership Award

Senator Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Safety Leadership Award

Recognizing a Commitment to Firefighter Health and Safety

The Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) and National Fallen Firefighters Foundation (NFFF) are receiving nominations for the Senator Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Safety Leadership Award. Presented annually at the CFSI National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner, the award recognizes organizations for outstanding leadership in advancing fire health and safety. Taking place on April 16, 2015 in Washington, DC, the dinner will be attended by our nation’s top political leaders and 2,000 state and national fire service officials. The nomination deadline is February 27th.

The goals of the award are described by the following five points:

  • Helping to advance the Life Safety Initiatives originally developed by the American fire service during the 2004 National Fire Service Summit hosted by the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation.
  • Advocating the need to address firefighter health and safety and becoming an advocate for this cause.
  • Promoting and supporting firefighter health and safety initiatives at the local, state or national level.
  • Reaching out to other organizations and developing partnerships to further the cause of firefighter health and safety.
  • Engaging government leaders at all levels to work together for changes and for the establishment of government programs that can enhance the personal safety of firefighters.

Download the Application

Senator Paul S. Sarbanes Fire Safety Leadership Award

For additional information about the Sarbanes award, contact CFSI at 202-371-1277. Information is also available on the CFSI website at and the NFFF website at CFSI will provide coach-class travel and hotel accommodations at the Washington Hilton for a representative of the recipient organization. The Sarbanes award is made possible by the generous support of State Farm Insurance and VFIS, Inc, the corporate cosponsors.

The deadline for submitting applications is February 27, 2015.