Deputy Fire Chief Billy Goldfeder, NFFF Board Member, Receives the Mason Lankford Fire Service Leadership Award

Mason Lankford Fire Service Leadership Award is sponsored by the Congressional Fire Services Institute and Motorola Solutions

Deputy Chief William Goldfeder, EFODuring the National Fire and Emergency Services Virtual Symposium on April 28, 2021, Deputy Fire Chief Billy Goldfeder, of the Loveland-Symmes Fire Department (OH), received the 2021 Congressional Fire Services Institute/Motorola Solutions Mason Lankford Fire Service Leadership Award.

A 48-year member of the fire and emergency services, Chief Goldfeder has made firefighter safety and survival a central tenet of his career. A 1993 graduate of the National Fire Academy’s Executive Fire Officer Program, Chief Goldfeder serves on the Boards of Directors for the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation, International Association of Fire Chiefs, and the September 11th Families Association.

Chief Goldfeder has co-hosted since 1998, has written Firehouse Magazine’s Close Calls column for over 25 years, and serves as a contributing editor for, Fire Engineering and Firehouse.

His three books, Pass It On 1, Pass It On 2, and Pass It On 3, with nearly 150 contributors, have raised funds with all royalties benefiting firefighter charities including: National Fallen Firefighters Foundation, Firefighter Cancer Support Network, and the Chief Ray Downey Scholarship Fund.

“Billy’s leadership and passion for firefighter safety has inspired thousands in the industry to become better firefighters” said Troy Markel, Chair of the NFFF’s Board of Directors. “His passion doesn’t stop with the fire service; he is equally committed to serving the families of America’s fallen firefighters and I’m proud to serve alongside him on the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation Board of Directors.”

His contributions to firefighter safety, health, and survival capture the spirit of the Mason Lankford Award, which embraces the importance of advocacy and leadership on behalf of all firefighters and emergency services personnel.